8/8 NJPW G1 Climax Tournament Day 16 results: Tetsuya Naito vs. Sanada, Kenny Omega vs. Toru Yano, Kota Ibushi vs. Tama Tonga, Hirooki Goto vs. Zack Sabre Jr., Juice Robinson vs. Tomohiro Ishii in B-Block matches

By Jason Powell, Prowrestling.net Editor (@prowrestlingnet)

New Japan Pro Wrestling “G1 Climax Tournament Day 16”
August 8, 2018 in Kanagawa, Japan at Yokohama Cultural Gym
Broadcast live on New Japan World

1. Togi Makabe and Toa Henare beat Michael Elgin and Shota Umino.

2. Hangman Page and Chase Owens over Yoshi-Hashi and Sho.

3. Bad Luck Fale and Tanga Loa beat Minoru Suzuki and El Desperado.

4. Evil and Bushi beat Jay White and Yoh.

5. HIroshi Tanahashi and David Finlay beat Kazuchika Okada and Gedo.

6. Tomohiro Ishii beat Juice Robinson in a G1 Tournament B-Block match.

7. Zack Sabre Jr. beat Hirooki Goto in a G1 Tournament B-Block match.

8. Tama Tonga beat Kota Ibushi in a G1 Tournament B-Block match with outside interference from Tanga Loa and Bad Luck Fale.

9. Turo Yano beat Kenny Omega in a G1 Tournament B-Block match with outside interference from Tama Tonga.

10. Tetsuya Naito defeated Evil in a G1 Tournament B-Block match.

Powell’s POV: My plan was to give a full review of the key tournament matches, but some podcast scheduling issues came up. In other words, my apologies for going taking this brief approach and not running it sooner. With one day remaining in the A-Block, Omega, Ibushi, and Naito are still alive. My pick remains Naito, but they’ve definitely kept it interesting with Ibushi still in the picture.

The scoring for the round robin tournament is two points for a victory, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss.

A-Block Standings: Hiroshi Tanahashi (14), Kazuchika Okada (12), Jay White (12), Minoru Suzuki (8), Evil (8), Bad Luck Fale (6), Michael Elgin (6), Togi Makabe (6), Hangman Page (4), Yoshi-Hashi (4).

B-Block Standings: Kenny Omega (12), Tetsuya Naito (12), Kota Ibushi (10), Zack Sabre Jr. (10), Sanada (8), Tomohiro Ishii (8), Hirooki Goto (6), Tama Tonga (6), Juice Robinson (4), Toru Yano (4).

Friday’s show in Tokyo features the following A-Block matches: Kazuchika Okada vs. Hiroshi Tanahashi, Michael Elgin vs. Togi Makabe, Jay White vs. Evil, Hangman Page vs. Yoshi-Hashi, and Minoru Suzuki vs. Bad Luck Fale.

Saturday’s show in Tokyo features the following B-Block matches: Kenny Omega vs. Kota Ibushi, Tetsuya Naito vs. Zack Sabre Jr. Tomohiro Ishii vs. Sanada, Toru Yano vs. Tama Tonga, Hirooki Goto vs. Juice Robinson.

The finals with the winner of the A-Block facing the winner of the B-Block will be held on Sunday in Tokyo. Plus, Rey Mysterio Jr. is advertised.

NEW: Help support Prowrestling.net when you shop Amazon by starting your online Amazon shopping at Prowrestling.net/amazon. You are not charged extra, but we receive a small and very helpful commission on everything you purchase. Thanks for thinking of us every time you shop at Amazon.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.