7/27 NJPW G1 Climax Tournament Day 9 results: Kazuchika Okada vs. Yoshi-Hashi, Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Togi Makabe, Jay White vs. Bad Luck Fale, Evil vs. Hangman Page, and Michael Elgin vs. Minoru Suzuki in A-Block matches

By Jason Powell, Prowrestling.net Editor (@prowrestlingnet)

New Japan Pro Wrestling “G1 Climax Tournament Day 9”
July 27, 2018 in Shizuoka, Japan at Act City Hamamatsu
Broadcast live on New Japan World

1. Hirooki Goto and Yoh beat Shota Umino and Toa Henare.

2. Tama Tonga and Tanga Loa over Zack Sabre Jr. and Taka Michinoku.

3. Juice Robinson and David Finlay beat Toru Yano and Gedo.

4. Kota Ibushi and Yujiro Takahashi beat Tomohiro Ishii and Sho.

5. Tetsuya Naito and Sanada defeated Kenny Omega and Chase Owens.

6. Minoru Suzuki defeated Michael Elgin in a G1 Tournament A-Block match.

7. Evil defeated Hangman Page in a G1 Tournament A-Block match.

8. Bad Luck Fale beat Jay White in a G1 Tournament A-Block match.

9. Hiroshi Tanahashi defeated Togi Makage in a G1 Tournament A-Block match.

10. Kazuchika Okada defeated Yoshi-Hashi in a G1 Tournament A-Block match.

Powell’s POV: I am traveling to Waterloo, Iowa today for the National Wrestling Hall of Fame events this weekend, so I will be running basic G1 show results rather than the long form reviews until I return home.

The scoring for the round robin tournament is two points for a victory, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss.

A-Block Standings: Evil (8), Hiroshi Tanahashi (8), Kazuchika Okada (6), Jay White (6), Minoru Suzuki (6), Michael Elgin (4), Togi Makabe (4), Bad Luck Fale (4), Hangman Page (2), Yoshi-Hashi (2).

B-Block Standings: Kenny Omega (8), Tetsuya Naito (6), Sanada (6), Kota Ibushi (4), Tomohiro Ishii (4), Hirooki Goto (4), Tama Tonga (2), Zack Sabre Jr. (4), Toru Yano (2), Juice Robinson (0).

Saturday’s show in Aichi features the following B-Block matches: Kenny Omega vs. Sanada, Hirooki Goto vs. Tetsuya Naito, Kota Ibushi vs. Tomohiro Ishii, Juice Robinson vs. Toru Yano, Tama Tonga vs. Zack Sabre Jr.

Monday’s show in Kagawa features the following A-Block matches: Kazuchika Okada vs. Michael Elgin, Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Yoshi-Hashi, Evil vs. Minoru Suzuki, Jay White vs. Hangman Page, Togi Makabe vs. Bad Luck Fale.

Be the first to comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.