Dot Net Awards: 2008 MVP of Pro Wrestling

Posted in: 2008 Awards
Feb 4, 2009 - 02:32 PM

Dot Net readers voted on a variety of 2008 awards throughout January. The results will be posted today. The following are the poll results of the MVP of Pro Wrestling.

(1) Chris Jericho: 38 percent
(2) Shawn Michaels: 15 percent
(3) Jeff Hardy: 12 percent
(4) Edge: 10 percent
(5) Randy Orton: 5 percent

Others: Seven nominees split 19 percent of the vote.

Rich Twilling's thoughts: Several posters in the Dot Net Members' Forum stated that they were voting for Shawn Michaels. I am going to stick with my original pick and go with Chris Jericho, with Michaels second and Triple H, John Cena, and Nigel McGuinness rounding out the top five. I understand why someone would vote for Michaels. I go with Jericho simply because he was the MVP of the feud with Michaels, which was the feud of the year. Jericho was more "clutch" and "go to" than anyone else on the roster. When Michaels was selling his injuries, Jericho single handedly carried the program and even entire episodes of Raw. It is a toss up, but I stand by my choice.

Jason Powell's thoughts: I don't think you can go wrong with Michaels or Jericho. I went with HBK because he delivered great performances throughout the year. He was in the best matches and the best angles, and he gave Ric Flair the type of sendoff match he deserved. Jericho also had an amazing year and he was the highlight of numerous Raw shows, as Rich indicated. Edge is a strong third place finisher in my book. Hardy was arguably the most popular performer of the year, but Edge was a sensational heel who carried the Smackdown brand. Honorable mention goes to Kurt Angle, who always works his ass off and is still the top star of the TNA brand.

© Copyright 2010 by PROWRESTLING.NET